Home > Grad School, Politics > Unemployment Benefit Abuse is a Symptom of Laziness

Unemployment Benefit Abuse is a Symptom of Laziness


Before entering graduate school, I’ll admit that I abused the system. After my contract for a temporary position at Applied Biosystems (Life Tech) expired, I received unemployment benefits with no intentions of getting another job; I had already been accepted to a graduate program. Although my case may be an exception, I feel that the system is too easy to exploit especially with another extension looming in the near future.

Unemployed individuals who receive benefits suffer from a lack of urgency. Although some may find it difficult to live on unemployment benefits, many of my peers can simply move home and use it as an extended paid vacation. My generation simply doesn’t care to keep a job. I remember reading that more recent college graduates in the last few years move home and avoid full-time work than ever before. These recent grads also enjoy procrastination, apathy, dependence, and Call of Duty. They pick up a temporary position for 6 months then have no motivation to re-apply. Living off their parents and tax dollars, they receive unemployment benefits as they “search for a job.” Tax dollars are paying for their lack of motivation.

Unemployment benefits for the long-term unemployed will likely be extended through 2012 although our government cannot afford it. Therefore, I propose that we use a tapered system for benefits. The longer an individual is unemployed, the less money they should receive. This will not only reduce government spending, but also further drive people to get a job. Of course, some people require these benefits for housing, children, etc. But if you really need something done, you will find a way to make it happen.

I’ll leave you with this to think about.

“I’m the type of person that if you ask me a question and I don’t know the answer, I’m gonna tell you that I don’t know. But I bet you what, I know how to find the answer and I will find the answer.”

That got me.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

