Home > Politics > Vote Republican? I Say Vote Atheist.

Vote Republican? I Say Vote Atheist.


I glanced over a poll somewhere claiming that people are far more likely to vote for a presidential candidate who holds Christian or Catholic beliefs than a candidate who is an Atheist. As a devout Atheist (I pray to my very own nonexistent deity called science), I felt obligated to write.

I first read about Russel’s teapot in Richard Dawkins’ “The God Delusion.” Allow me to paraphrase.

If I were to tell you a teapot was floating in orbit around the sun between the Earth and Mars that was too small to detect by any of our current technology, would you believe me? What if someone had written about this teapot for several centuries and claimed this ceramic kettle created everything in existence? Seems a little farfetched, no? I’m sorry, I just can’t grasp the idea that a teapot cast the 10 plagues over Egypt, let alone that it even exists.

“Man would indeed be in a poor way if he had to be restrained by fear of punishment and hope of reward after death.” – Einstein

I reject that a society can be so invested in the religious beliefs of its leader. There is absolutely no justification to do so. If we’ve learned anything from history it’s that religion is simply a game we play to legitimize imperialism.

You don’t need a deity to tell you the difference between right and wrong. You certainly should not rely on an unknown entity to define success.

Recently I find myself taking the stance opposed to someone just for the sake of debate. Regardless of my actual perspective, I disagree because I can. However, I argue against religious beliefs because they are absurd. There are no direct benefits of having a religious belief, but there are certainly disadvantages:

1. You lose your free will. You’re now a follower.
2. Fear of punishment. Hope for reward after death. (Einstein’s elegant words)
3. Your time.
4. Your money.
5. Idealism. You must deal with the fact that you were not created in the image of your deity. Nothing has been made perfect.
6. False goals. Successful leaders, businessmen, professors, etc. did not get to where they are because of “good” deeds. If your ultimate goal is to reach your heaven, you cannot succeed in life.

So next time you go to the polls, think and vote Atheist.

  1. peddiebill
    October 31, 2011 at 21:05

    I wonder if you are slightly confused about having a naive religious belief versus having an open minded religious belief. Einstein, whom you quote in support of your case, was not actually an atheist, and indeed explained at length why he was not. ( I have written at length on this and would be happy to discuss this further).

    • October 31, 2011 at 21:33

      I’m confused? Did you even read it? I never stated that Einstein was an Atheist. No, I took his words out of context because they fit the situation. I may seem to be writing with a closed mind but these words are the product of multiple religions, science, and some perspective. (vague, I know)

      I’m certainly no religious expert. Nor am I out to prove that the bible is a creation of propaganda and discrimination. I sense some form of religious belief in your tone. Past Presidents have traditionally been Christian. Give me a real justification besides “it gets voters,” and I’ll go to church.

  2. peddiebill
    October 31, 2011 at 22:07

    Justification can be provided at a number of levels. First like it or not religion has been an integral part of the development of modern civilization. For example principles like loving your neighbour (probably the opposite of those like survival of the fittest) emerged from Christianity as did the hospital system, the education system, the welfare system the legal system etc.etc. There is social acceptance in a Church, and aid for disasters comes from church – not atheism.

    • October 31, 2011 at 23:13

      Integral? You’re implying that without religion we would be nowhere. Humanoids have been on Earth for a few hundred thousand years. Religion has been around for at most 30,000 years. Evolution and science has provided a basis of everything you know to exist for the last 4.5 billion years, ignore the fact that the universe has existed for roughly 14 billion years.

      I don’t know what single-celled organisms you know that practice religion. Which dolphins, hyenas, or any animals do you know believe that going to heaven is a priority? “Love thy neighbor” has been around for millions of years. Animals practice this in the wild and have been for millions of years. Religion is not integral to the Earth orbiting the sun. Nor was it integral to the billions of years of evolution that occurred before either of us existed.

      The social acceptance in the church comes from the masses appealing to feed their need. When you strive you may fail, and there’s your scapegoat. When something succeeds, you have someone to thank. That’s religion.

      Aid for disasters doesn’t come solely from the church. I believe there’s no argument there.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

