Home > Grad School > Why We Love Caffeine

Why We Love Caffeine


Two hours ago, I had my first cup of coffee in 18 months. My body got up at 7, but my brain said hell no. I decided to deliver some drugs into my system for a quick fix. Now, I’m regretting it. My body still feels exhausted (mostly my eyes) and my brain is working faster than I can move. Moreover, I fear the exhaustion that will surely be here in about 5 hours.

I was once a morning person, and after having a few months between working and beginning starting classes again, I reverted to college habits (minus the pizza rolls). I would often sleep very early in the morning and wake up to the blazing heat of the midday sun burning through my window.

Recently, I’ve been taking naps when I feel the need, which does not happen everyday. When I was once a coffee drinker I was taking naps because I had to. Nearly everyday I would sleep more often than was necessary. I remember coming up with a polyphasic sleep pattern that could meet my needs, but I was far too lazy to implement it strictly.

With caffeine having a half-life of roughly 5 hours in adults, I realize that not only are highway accidents nap thieves, but also caffeine. If I drink my coffee too late, I’ll be unable to take a nap when I have the time. If I drink my coffee too early, I might lose focus in the middle of a crucial experiment or meeting, making me drink more coffee. My schedule will no longer revolve around me, but rather around the needs of the caffeine.

Articles everywhere are professing the benefits of drinking coffee. Not just a little coffee, a lot of coffee. Drinking coffee throughout the day has become the norm. I see frequent check-ins to Starbucks, Peet’s, everywhere they sell doses of caffeine by the gallon.

5 reasons (not) to drink coffee.

Caffeine Nation – CBS News.

“Half of the adult population in this country are regular coffee drinkers … drinking an average of three to four cups of coffee a day.” This statistic is insane! Being on a college campus really makes you fully aware of this as everybody has a phone in one hand and a coffee in the other. I think I’m coming to terms with the fact that I will have to drink coffee. Let’s hope I don’t forget to sleep.

Two Fanatic World of Warcraft Gamers Have Died Because Of WoW

Categories: Grad School Tags: , , ,
  1. Sara Yori
    August 26, 2011 at 17:06

    You should see the students at my college. I think about 85% of the school drinks coffee. There are students in my own classes that drink at least 5 cups a day.

  2. D
    August 28, 2011 at 11:13

    Haha, not only coffee but lots of soda, redbull, monster, etc. I’ve met a lot of people who have claimed it’s their lifeblood.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

